Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, I'm looking at purchasing a new ZR2, but I want to use it for towing a travel trailer. I've found a good amount of data on towing with the Duramax, but can't seem to find a lot of info from people using a gasser.

If I was towing a travel trailer regularly through high elevation in the West, what should be the maximum trailer dry weight (other than the 5k lbs tow rating) I do not exceed? To be honest, I have no experience towing, so I have no idea how close to 5000lbs I should be getting. Would adding air bags or a WDH help me tow above 4500lbs more comfortably?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
3,787 Posts
No, air bags won't help. An LT or Z71 would have higher tow ratings though--the ZR2 is limited by the suspension, not the engine, and I don't believe it's entirely a payload change. The Ford Raptor has the most powerful engine in an F-150, but the lowest tow rating (or close to it).

I've repeatedly call max tow ratings marketing BS. There are also other limitations such as tongue weight and payload to consider. This site can help you with some of those numbers.

As for engine you could watch this Ike Gauntlet test of the gas vs diesel. The gas is faster up the hill, but the diesel better overall (at least in their scoring).

Finally there are threads here that discuss this topic. Try searching for the word "towing" in the title.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I appreciate the prompt response. I've read through a bunch of threads, including the "what are you towing" one. I just keep getting conflicting info. I've seen some guys with a ZR2 towing 6000lbs+, and then I've also heard about the 85% rule. It's hard to tell which one is better advice.

·
Registered
3,787 Posts
. I've seen some guys with a ZR2 towing 6000lbs+, and then I've also heard about the 85% rule. It's hard to tell which one is better advice.