Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
845 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When towing in tow mode (exhaust brake mode "on") and the truck is happy to be in either of 2 gears, do you choose the taller or shorter gear? For exmple, say you're curising 60mph and a brief poke at the pedal causes a downshift, and then the truck is happy to remain in the lower gear as you continue to cruise at 60mph. Then speeding up 1 or 2 mph, then easing off the gas to slow back to 60mph causes an upshift, and now the truck is happy to stay in the taller gear. So there is the choice of 2 gears. Which is the better choice in regards to engine life?

With the gas motors my understanding is that the lower gear is better, it generates less heat. But I'm new to diesel.

·
Registered
2,322 Posts
I don't like to lug it at 1,400 RPM under too significant a load, but 1,800 to 2,000 is prime economical towing RPMs. I would go with the gear that puts you there, speed and terrain permitting. 5th puts you there in that range around 60 mph, which is convenient :smile:

Unlike a gas engine, you do not want or need to buzz the diesel above 3,000 rpm for extended periods of time.

·
Registered
2,218 Posts
EGT 's are going to be lower in the lower gear. Coolant flow is better as well.
I'd probably just driver faster to remain in the higher gear though.

Reactions: Xwd and jdecker94

·
Registered
11,488 Posts
Faster is better,>:)

·
Registered
1,891 Posts