Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
I've got a 2019 crew cab 4wd LT with about 23k on it. For as long back as I can remember, the brakes have felt soft, and it seems to take a while before they engage fully. Since new, this truck has not given me the firm from the top pedal feel I would expect after a new brake job, or on a brand new truck. There doesn't seem to be anything wrong with the pressure, especially in panic stops, but the pedal travel is enough to make me think WTH from time to time. The reservoir is full, and I've never seen any fluid leaks. I'm not a mechanic, so I have no specialty diagnostic tools. It's not thrown any codes. Are there known issues with my problem? I've searched the forum, and only seen results for clicking/grinding, or pedal to the floor. Please forgive me if I've missed something.
Thanks,

Jason

·
Registered
266 Posts
If you pump the brakes a few times eventually you will lose all travel and the pedal should just lock in place and feel very stiff. If it continues to slowly creep down that is indicative of a leaking master cyllinder or air in the lines compressing.

Could also be an EBCM and/or wheel speed sensor issue but that’s insanely unlikely and would give a service warning.

·
Premium Member
2,682 Posts
my 18 took about 6 months to break in. I was complaining about it. They didn't feel "soft", but the grab I have now is much better

·
Registered
4,581 Posts
the big thing is, What are you comparing it to?
Every truck I have had has been different, as well as my wifes Jeep, it is real sensitive compared to my truck..

She better not be taking a drink of her coffee when I am coming up to a stop sign in her Jeep

·
Registered
4,095 Posts
My brakes had little bite new. It took some miles to really bed in The pads?

Today they have great bite.

Not sure if it is the type of pad compound or if it was the treated rotors as they were my first set.

·
Registered