Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone else run into this with the RC inline speedometer calibrator? I have a 2018 Z71 and the module says it's for 2017/2018 GM trucks. The harness I removed is in the exact location as the instructions, but it's a 12-pin harness and the harness I received from RC is 16-pin.
396578
396579
396580
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
211 Posts
Glad to hear you got it sorted out!
I have the hypertech version, same thing just rebranding - on my 2019 canyon 265 70 17 tires. If you don't mind let me know if you can set cruise control at 73 mph, from 72 mine will skip and go to 74. Was the same on my 2017 colorado also. Thanks,
 

·
Registered
2019 Z71
Joined
·
49 Posts
Glad to hear you got it sorted out!
I have the hypertech version, same thing just rebranding - on my 2019 canyon 265 70 17 tires. If you don't mind let me know if you can set cruise control at 73 mph, from 72 mine will skip and go to 74. Was the same on my 2017 colorado also. Thanks,
That’s exactly what my rc one does.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Glad to hear you got it sorted out!
I have the hypertech version, same thing just rebranding - on my 2019 canyon 265 70 17 tires. If you don't mind let me know if you can set cruise control at 73 mph, from 72 mine will skip and go to 74. Was the same on my 2017 colorado also. Thanks,
Can do. Should be commuting this week on I-80 and will test it out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
777 Posts
Glad to hear you got it sorted out!
I have the hypertech version, same thing just rebranding - on my 2019 canyon 265 70 17 tires. If you don't mind let me know if you can set cruise control at 73 mph, from 72 mine will skip and go to 74. Was the same on my 2017 colorado also. Thanks,
Mine skips from 68 to 70 (as well as a few other skip points). I never really thought about it enough to realize it's probably related to the calibrator.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I called RC and they said that hasn’t been reported but is prob a software glitch. Reporting it to their QA department and said to call back in a month.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
211 Posts
I called RC and they said that hasn’t been reported but is prob a software glitch. Reporting it to their QA department and said to call back in a month.
Oh it's been reported more than once! A guy named Gary Woodward at hypertech was who I talked to both times. I also had problems with interior dome leds interfering with it on the 2017 Colorado, removed them fixed problems. haven't tried leds in the 2019 canyon yet, the leds caused the unit to click on and off and other weird stuff especially when using cruise.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Oh it's been reported more than once! A guy named Gary Woodward at hypertech was who I talked to both times. I also had problems with interior dome leds interfering with it on the 2017 Colorado, removed them fixed problems. haven't tried leds in the 2019 canyon yet, the leds caused the unit to click on and off and other weird stuff especially when using cruise.
So, yours is Hypertech and doing the same thing? Mine is Rough Country, so definitely a software glitch since they use the same download source.

I have a quirk with my LED dome lights as well. I have the dome exit lights switched off most of the time as the "fix," but when on I have to wait about 30 seconds after I get out to lock with my remote.
 

·
Registered
16 Canyon SLT, V6, 4X4, Longbed, Cyber Metallic Gray
Joined
·
374 Posts
Skilping mph, probably not as much of a glitch, that would be coding for cruise control, that is set at every mph, and the speesomkter calibration, changes the correct speedometer for larger tires, but not the coding for the cruise.
Have a good GPS that can read tenths?
Maybe 62.9 mph then 74 mph.
Every click on cruise adjust 1.1 mph with larger tires instead of 1 mph on factory size?

Just a thought
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
385 Posts
Glad to hear you got it sorted out!
I have the hypertech version, same thing just rebranding - on my 2019 canyon 265 70 17 tires. If you don't mind let me know if you can set cruise control at 73 mph, from 72 mine will skip and go to 74. Was the same on my 2017 colorado also. Thanks,
Probably a weird rounding error.

Cruise control is in kilometers per hour.... Specifically whole number kilometers.

1 mile is 1.6km. But 1.6 is impossible to input and has to be rounded.

In actuality the BCM seems to follow some weird pattern. Likely to ensure the dash indicator correctly rounds to the correct mph. Even in kmh this weird pattern is present. And it’s not as simple as just adding 1.6kmh and rounding to nearest full number.

But messing with the signal to the dash will likewise mess with how the rounding works. And is probably what is causing the jump. The actual speed difference is probably small, like 1.24 mph.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
385 Posts
Here’s some simple math to determine why and where the errors pop up.

Blue values are what the BCM likes.When you push the button it goes to the next or previous blue value. I’m not guruanteeing they are the real values but it’s something like this.

As you can see some DIC readings are skipped when you use adjustment.

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
347 Posts
Also have the RC speedometer calibrator, am able to set cruse @ 73 mph.
FWIW, I initially set it up using 265/70 17 - but changed it and input 31.65 as the tire size.

77803482-DD51-408D-BDB1-E1F99E30700C.jpeg
 
  • Like
Reactions: KER17Z71

·
Registered
Joined
·
90 Posts
caused the unit to click on and off and other weird stuff especially when using cruise.
Oh, good. I thought I was going insane. I get this same exact thing sometimes, and I couldn't figure out what's causing it. I wonder if it is a bad ground somewhere? I've modded in a few things, hardwired dashcam, 5v LED strips (!), and a subwoofer. I'm calibrated for 265/70/R17.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top