Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2015 Canyon base model. I have searched and not found what I'm looking for so I will ask.
I would like to install a 2nd power outlet (cigarette lighter) beside the existing one. Has anyone done this and what's involved? I am a volunteer firefighter and need a 2nd outlet to power my dash light, the original is for the phone charger and I'm tired of trying to switch plugs every time we have a fire run.
Thanks in advance for your incite.

·
Registered
352 Posts
2015 Canyon base model. I have searched and not found what I'm looking for so I will ask.
I would like to install a 2nd power outlet (cigarette lighter) beside the existing one. Has anyone done this and what's involved? I am a volunteer firefighter and need a 2nd outlet to power my dash light, the original is for the phone charger and I'm tired of trying to switch plugs every time we have a fire run.
Isn't there a USB outlet in your center console? That's what I use to charge my phone, and would be easier than installing a new outlet. There's even slots for routing the cables under the lid.

In the newer models there is a cradle behind the shifter for wireless charging phones. Below is the diagram.

·
Registered
352 Posts
Or if you must have a second 12V outlet you could just get a splitter. Remove the existing outlet, widen/cut new holes for the new splitter, and wire it in. You'll need to remove some dash pieces to gain access (and of course disconnect battery).

·
Registered
10,252 Posts
Probably easiest to just use a splitter.

Did the base model not have a 2nd power outlet in the back of the center console in 2015? (Mine isn't base, has that rear unit.