Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First let me say I hope this is the correct forum for this question.
Second, I am a newbie to both a Canyon and this forum as you can tell by my post count.

I noticed the other day when starting my truck (3.6 engine) the oil pressure light stayed on for what I thought a long time.
When I paid attention to the light , the light did not turn off until the tach needle swept to max distance clockwise and when the tach needle was between 2500 and 3000 on the back swing the oil light went off. The needle settled at the normal idle RPM.

I am just wondering if this is the normal?

Truck is a 2020 Denali.

Thanks in advance.

Ken

·
Registered
1,280 Posts
Sounds normal...I'll have to watch & see if mine reacts the dame. Did you do a cautionary oil-level check to ensure it's good?

·
Registered
1,953 Posts
You can set the information display in the dash to show oil pressure using the controls on the left side of the steering wheel. Actually having low oil pressure would be very bad. I would turn that on and monitor for a while.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have checked the oil....it was close enough to call it full

I have been watching the oil pressure once the truck starts... saw 52 psi this morning

Ken

·
Registered
2018 Colorado WT Extended Cab 4x4
84 Posts
...I noticed the other day when starting my truck (3.6 engine) the oil pressure light stayed on for what I thought a long time...