Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is Leonard Ledoux (Lenny). I am a retired tooling engineer from The Boeing Co. I worked in nearly every aircraft factory in the USA, at least once. One of those guys you need for a new bird, not so much in production. I'm a fabricator, carpenter, jack of all trades kind of guy. I lived with an FJ40 for six years here, wife couldn't drive it. Hard to get parts, shipping very expensive. So I looked very hard at what change I wanted to make. Most important to me was the popularity, FJ40's didn't sell well anywhere and poorly here. The Chevy/Isuzu D-Max is everywhere. If I get in trouble up in the mountains someone will know how to band-aid me and get me home. I have three grown daughters, eight grandchildren, third wife (reference all the places I've worked). Where I live houses don't need furnaces or a/c. While only 3* south of the equator it is 8,440 ft outside my front door. In a bowl, have to go over 12K feet to get out:). No snow, that is in the upper elevations. Not a lot of paved roads so I needed something I could get out and about in, again. The Rio can't get a hamburger without scraping something. Mechanic wanted me to go diesel, I just don't like the sound. I guess too many hotrods and fast motorcycles in my life. I also wanted the 16" wheels, geez you get 1 1/2" lift right there with the tire size difference. With 200K on the clock the belt will need to be changed right away. Otherwise I think it is just a good old truck with high wear but not jacked with.

Attachments

·
Registered
2021 Black \/6 4WD Z71 Crew Cab Short Box
1,818 Posts
My grand father and father both retired from Boeing.
hope the truck serves you well-
My old man was in Tooling at Everett and my grandfather was a production manager.

Reactions: Firehk

·
Registered
7,265 Posts