Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Loud Squeak while decelerating? *SOLVED*

So I've owned my '16 Colorado Diesel 4x4 for a little over a month now. So far, I'm loving it. (Getting between 27-33 MPG!). I am, however, having a minor issue...
On occasion, there is a very loud squeaking coming from under the hood (as far as I can tell). When at speed, there is no noticeable noise (though it could be masked by road noise). The squeaking only happens when I'm driving slow and/or coming to a stop. Once stopped and idling, the sound goes away. This makes it tough to diagnose, since I can't pop the hood at find exactly where the sound is coming from! :censored: It's an intermittent problem that I've had happen twice already in about 2,000 miles. I'm not a mechanic by any means, but to me it sounds like a squeaky belt. In high school I had a 1986 Oldsmobile Station Wagon with 200,000 miles that would make a very similar sound, but only during cold weather, etc. It kind of sucks to spend almost $40,000 on a new vehicle only to have it pull up to stoplights and parking spaces sounding exactly like the old beater surf-wagon I had back in high-school. The squeak really is that loud! It's annoying as hell... Has anyone had a this issue or know what the possible cause could be? Help is very much appreciated!!

(Btw, I'm making this new thread because the similar topics I was reading on this forum related to similar issues were either not happening in quite the same circumstances, happening to older 1st Gen models, or they were not Diesels. I figured that could make a difference in the potential causes or know issues and I wanted to make sure to provide as much info both for those offering help and those that might experience the problem down the road. If someone has already posted a topic on this, sorry! I'm new here and I couldn't find exactly the same issue in the search results)

·
Registered
1,065 Posts

·