Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, Im looking to get some more power from my 2012 2.9 i4, ive got a intake on and a higher flow exaust, im looking to do some long tube headers but not really seeing anything on aftermarket sites, anyone know where I could look? Also I know the oem headers contain a cat, this is also a daily driver and I need it to pass emissions, any advice there to pass emissions with headers if I have to remove that cat?

·
Super Moderator
5,383 Posts
I don't know of any company that makes a long tube for the I4. Over The Top Performance(OTTP) makes or made one for the I5. Maybe contact them for a long tube I4.

As far As passing emmsions you will want a pcm tune to shut off the CEL and get the most HP out of the mod and i hear (I have no personal experience) you can pass emmsion here in California with just the second cat as long as it's warmed up and the CEL is shut off. Not sure about other states.
https://www.355nation.net/forum/engines-performance-tech-questions/77481-so-you-looking-header-your-i4-i5-v8.html

·
Registered
158 Posts
about your only choice is this one which should fit with some slight modifications oblong some bolt holes & as GregDap said you have to have the ECM Tuned for it because you will get a CEL Code because of the missing 2nd 02 sensor, you can install the 2nd 02 sensor but its still going to set a code ( catalyst system efficiency below threshold) because there no pre-cat in the Header A couple of 02 extenders may work for helping not set a code .
https://www.ebay.com/p/Maximizer-Header-for-2004-to-2006-Chevrolet-Colorado-2-8l-4cyl-2-4wd/1183014308?iid=232786718557&chn=ps