Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All

My appologies if this has been discussed. I did a few searches but didnt find anything addressing my question.

I am starting to do some offroading...beginner trails for fairly stock vehicles, but they have rocks, stumps, etc. I want to replace the OEM wranglers with 265/70/17 rubber. I already have a leveling kit installed.

Does the load rating give the tire any added benefits against punctures or sidewall cuts when on the trail?

I can find BFG KO2s in C rated, Duratracs in SL and C rated, and Falken's in SL and E ratings.

I'm leaning towards either the Duratracs or Falkens in SL rating to save weight. Is there any reason I should consider a C or E rated tire??

Thank you, George

·
Registered
11,488 Posts
I am no expert on tires, but load ratings are in regard to how much weight a tire can support. It has no direct correlation to "puncture resistance" other than the fact that the heavier tire with heavier wall may just be harder to puncture.

I think a lot of people look toward tires with kevlar belts, etc. to get the puncture resistance, but there are far greater experts than I in this area on these forums who can help you out.

Reactions: lqdchkn

·
Premium Member
4,888 Posts
I am no expert on tires, but load ratings are in regard to how much weight a tire can support. It has no direct correlation to "puncture resistance" other than the fact that the heavier tire with heavier wall may just be harder to puncture.

I think a lot of people look toward tires with kevlar belts, etc. to get the puncture resistance, but there are far greater experts than I in this area on these forums who can help you out.
^^^This