Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2022 CCLB Z71
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy- Total newbie here. Never owned a truck and I haven't even taken possession of my new to me 2019 LT since the title is still between dealers.

I am sure this is an often talked about question, and I've read a TON of stuff on the web as well as exchanged messages with manufacturers. But I just want to know this for certain from the experts here: are the Renegade and Diamondback covers the only load bearing options when it comes to bed covers? Specifically using them to carry a strapped down load. My assumption is yes but I really want to make sure as I am trying to maximize the capacity of the vehicle for work and family. I need the best security and weather protection for musical gear that I use professionally. Being able to use the top of the bed for luggage/gear when heading to the cottage would be a real game changer. No motorcycles or ATVs etc in my future. Those days are over.

If the diamondback opened like a regular trifold I would be all set. The cost is not irrelevant but I am happy to pay for what I need. I love the Renegade and had a great message exchange with them about my concerns but I don't want to wait 6 months. And, yes, the cost on that one is a bit much.

Thanks!

·
Registered
418 Posts
The weight limit for most of the higher quality tri fold covers is about 400#. I have an Undercover Armorflex and I'm pretty sure the limit is about 400#. I really like the Diamondback covers, but I'm not a fan of the split design. If they made a hard tri fold cover that opens like the others, or a hard roll up one like the Bak Revolver (poor QC from what I've seen), I'd definitely send them my money. I'm very happy with my Armorflex.

·
Registered
2022 CCLB Z71
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·