Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner
  • Hey Everyone! Vote for the Site Favourite ROTM winner for the year of 2021 HERE!
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. Just got around to throwing the set of kmc wheels with duratracs that I picked up used. Really made me enjoy the look of my truck.

I have a couple questions. First, I am new to trucks and off-road tires. The person I got my wheels from claimed he has 30k on the duratracs but they look almost new. I’d say at minimum 75 percent tread. He claims he rotated his tires regularly.

First question is, being I’m not used to off road tire sounds, are duratracs known to be noisy at lower speeds? When I’m taking off and slowing down around 15 mph-10 mph they make a howl sound. At any other speed they are very quiet. I don’t notice any difference in sound at Highway speeds from the stock wranglers. They also track straight and have no shakes or anything. Tires are 265/65/17.

My truck is a CCLB that is exactly 2” lower in the front. I have a brand new set of RC 2” leveling struts sitting in the box that I haven’t installed yet mainly because of the cold. I know I want a level look, but reading these forums I’m not sure I want to level 2” for a couple reasons.

1. I’m still under warranty for a while as my trucks a 2021 with 1700 miles.

2. Most people seem to be split with 2” being the max amount you can lift without needing a diff drop.

Not sure if I’m overthinking it but I don’t want to create excessive wear and tear on the truck.

I’m now considering a 1.25” spacer which will still leave me with 3/4 rake. This might be beneficial as I randomly buy bikes and quads so if I ever have to tow I’ll sit level. The only thing is I don’t want to do all that work to be disappointed with the outcome.