Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
433 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to truck lifts and I had a few questions. I am debating between either a leveling kit(and 3 in body lift, maybe) or a suspension lift. I have a 06 GMC Canyon 2wd z-71.

1. With the leveling kit (was looking at pro comp), will this adjust the angle and cause the CV boots to wear out faster the way that cranking the TB would? I want to level the truck but not at the expense of ruining something else quicker. I have seen dropping the front diff. but would I still need to do that with a leveling kit?
2. If I get a suspension lift, do I also need a leveling kit?
3. If I get a leveling kit do I need to add new shocks(front, rear, both)?
4. I have been reading about shackles in the back, what exactly would I be accomplishing by adding a leveling kit in the front and shackles in the back?

·
Registered
1,345 Posts
1) IDK what the Pro-Comp kit might consist of, but to level your Z71, all you'll need is a wrench and a tape measure. Anything else is a waste of money.

Anything you do to lower the point of equilibrium on the front suspension would increase the CV joint angle UNLESS you also dropped the front differential . . . which would, in turn, increase the angle on the joints in the front drive shaft. But since you don't have a front drive shaft (2wd), or front differential, then you also don't have front axle shafts or CV joints. Problem solved.

2) I can't speak for any other kit, but the Rancho kit specifies the static height upon completion of the installation. You simply adjust the pre-load on the torsion bars to achieve that measurement. So, no, you wouldn't need a levelling kit in addition. See also, my first comment.