Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2018 zr2 ccsb duramax
303 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just a curiosity question. I’m a rather conservative driver not too often to I command more then 60% throttle. Anyone else running the 2.8 hard ?
Anyone see any benefits to the Italian tune up ?
Are you running stock ? Or tuned ? Intact or deleted ??
let the opinions roll.
I hear lots of guys say they run there diesels hard. Perhaps I’m too easy on her lol.

·
Registered
5,459 Posts
Probably less than once every 3,000 miles, and I still accelerate faster than most other cars.

·
Registered
2021 Colorado 2.8L Diesel Z71
192 Posts
If you tow 5000 pounds or more, you should be at 100% load on any long grade on a highway.

Around town, even with just 180 hp it's going to be hard to hold 100% load for more than a half minute without exceeding any reasonable speed limit. My normal driving of pretty much every car almost never uses 100 pedal application unless I'm towing.

·
Registered
2016 White Z71 Duramax CCLB
60 Posts
Running “hard” has less to do with WOT and more to do with engine load at a given RPM. Making a quarter mile pass isn’t the same as towing a moderate load over a few hundred miles. Stead load with steady RPM, that’s how you keep an engine happy.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Regularly, but usually when getting on on ramps or trying to pass.

Tuned, but I only turn it up if I really need the power. Otherwise it stays on level 1

·
Premium Member
3,440 Posts
My wife is WOM a lot.

·
Registered
2021 Colorado 2.8L Diesel Z71
192 Posts
Fun little fact just if anyone is interested, in the diesel industry we don't say "wide open throttle" for obvious reasons. We typically say "100% load" or "Full Load", and if the driver is on the pedal (not cruise) we might say "100% pedal request".