Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 10k mile maintenance plan states to lubricate the Chassis. I Have never done this before. My understanding is I'm going to need a grease gun and some grease. Any recommendations here?

Also, I need to know all of the lube points. Is there a chart somewhere? Will I need Zerks or are they pre installed? Would it be better to do this while its warmish outside?

Thanks for the help

·
Registered
5,607 Posts
My 10k mile maintenance plan states to lubricate the Chassis. I Have never done this before. My understanding is I'm going to need a grease gun and some grease. Any recommendations here?

Also, I need to know all of the lube points. Is there a chart somewhere? Will I need Zerks or are they pre installed? Would it be better to do this while its warmish outside?

Thanks for the help
Lol!
Ask your service advisor to define the procedure, because there are no zerk fittings on our trucks. All 3 of my trucks are/were over 10K miles, and not once was this ever mentioned during a scheduled service, nor noted as being done on any paperwork.

·
Registered
5,905 Posts

Thanks for the help
I'm very curious, where did you come up with this "maintenance plan"? Sounds like an antiquated generic plan from somewhere to me. Read you owners manual and follow that.

Was it a Jiffy Lube type place? Don't listen to those boobs, your money is their only concern.

If your dealer told you this, ask them how much to only lube the chassis. This should be funny.

Do the oil change when the truck tells you too and the other stuff when the owners manual for your truck tells you too.

Watch out for the "need to clean your injectors" BS too. They are full of crap. Your truck is WAY to new for that BS.

Reactions: HenryT and Toughsox

·
Registered
497 Posts