Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
566 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is anyone here besides me dealing with a hostile work environment? I'm trying to figure out how to deal with my boss cause I'm fed up with his B.S. but I'm not gonna go do anything rash. I want to be able to hang him out to dry without worrying about loosing my own job (btw, he CAN'T fire me, he doesn't have the authority)

I'm a mechanic who is just getting into this field, but I'm no spring chicken (I'm 31). My boss always brags about his 35 years of experiance in the automotive field, but we rarely work on automotive applications (diesel fleet maintenance mostly). My boss has ZERO diesel experiance, but I just got out of a 15 month school where I now have a diploma in truck and diesel technology.

I won't go into specifics but this guy bullies EVERYONE, he thinks he is untouchable, and he loves to tell my other coworker and I what we can and can't do, who we can and can't talk to, and where we can and can't go.

There's a good possibility that I get on his nerves since the drivers come to me now with their problems. I take care of these problems right away whereas my boss, IF he addresses the problems, takes several days to do so. He also has a bad habit of talking down to the drivers which usually leads to arguments.

I would go to his boss, but my coworker has already tried that with ZERO success. My boss brown noses his boss everyday (no exageration).

Is there any idea as to what I can do?

·
Registered
9,570 Posts
Talk to HR?

The other option is to figure out how to give him enough rope to hang himself with and then step back and watch it happen.

·
Registered
566 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
LOL!!!! Greatness!!

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
I've dealt with that same type of BS in the past.... I even went to HR and only got retaliation back from my boss. It just gave me motivation to a find a new, better paying job; which I'm glad I did.

·
Registered
566 Posts