Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

F8L's 2018 Canyon - Overland / MTB Adventure Rig

175K views 514 replies 64 participants last post by  Its.exit 
#1 · (Edited)
I have never done a build thread before but as the mods add up I thought it would be nice to have a spot to keep track of them in the event someone wants to do something similar.

My intent with this truck is to build it up in such a way that it can get me and my family to all of the wild natual places we enjoy be it camping, mountain biking, fishing or just simple sight seeing. It has to stay reliable enough to get me back and forth to work and not break the bank every time I fill it up. To accomplish these goals I aim to keep the mods as simple as possible with an eye for reliability, comfort and fuel economy. Those are not sexy "Instagram worthy" goals but they are mine and I'm sure I'm not alone. ?

I traded in my 2016 Canyon All-Terrain CCLB for various reasons but I really wanted a shorter wheelbase and the new engine/trans combo. The price was right so in late June I picked up the 2018 Canyon SLE at Thompsons Buick GMC. They let me swap the larger tires off the 2016 and they kept the OEM tires from the 2018. So I guess you could say I started off on the right foot with this build. :grin2:

Specs
Year - 2018
Model/Trim - Canyon SLE 4x4 CrewCab ShortBed V6 8spd
Options - Covenience Package, Forward Collision Alert, Tow Package
Current Height: measured from ground through wheel center cap to bottom of fender
Driver Front - 39.75"
Passenger Front - 39.50"
Driver Rear - 41"
Passenger Rear - 41"
Clearance lowest Point - ? at rear shock mounts

Most current photo 02/2020

Mod List
Suspension
King 2.5 coilovers w/compression adjust at 2.5" on 450lb springs
Icon Vehicle Dynamics 2.0 rear shock
1" Silverado rear lift blocks #15885530
1"-1.50" AutoSprings Add-a-leaf
Prothane 19-419 extended sway bar links
Street Ray's Swaybar Relocation Bracket
1.00" wheel spacers on front