Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been training adults and teenagers for 20+ years on how to drive all sizes and types of fire trucks and 4 wheel drive brush trucks. I've never had one of my trainees get into an accident with a piece of equipment.
We hired a new guy, mid 20's, smart as hell EMT working his first ambulance job. He side swiped a gas pump on day one and before he gets fired, I convinced the bosses to partner him up with me for driver training. Went to the fire house and got my traffic cones and set him up a small, basic course last night. TOTAL FAILURE! Tonight I set up a simple parking space, 10ft x 20ft and a 10 ft wide curved driveway. Again, TOTAL FAILURE! He cannot back into a parking space, much less back down a standard residential driveway! I've asked the boss to bring him back next week for a last chance session. I've had Jr. Firefighters back a 5k gallon tanker into tight parking spaces and run obstacle courses before they had driver's licenses and I can't teach this guy to back or even drive straight into a parking space in a Ford Transit! I've put it on paper and had him video me driving every exercise that I've asked him to do and study the videos. Extra Large mirrors and backup cameras and he can't get it. Not sure how he even got a driver's license? If he doesn't get it quick, he's gonna be unemployed and unemployable as an EMT. I hate to see anyone fail. I also realize that some people are not teachable. I just can't believe that out of the hundreds of kids that I've taught to drive that this one is going to beat me! Not sure where to turn to help this guy succeed short of losing my temper and going off on him to see if that will sink in.

Anyone else teach driver training?
Any last ditch ideas?

·
Registered
85 Posts
For him it's not muscle memory. It's just like typing. Anyone can learn to touch type.