Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I noticed in my settings that I can connect to my houses wifi while sitting in the drive way. Cool.

But I'm trying to think of a use case for that and why the option exists. I'm a "IT guy" by trade, but I don't know enough yet about the things the truck does. (2017 Z71 Colorado).

Also another networking question: If i connect 2 devices to my mobile hotspot but I am not subscribed to the service, will the truck still hadn out a DHCP address to those devices and can they communicate with each other? Curious , cause then my kids could connect their iphones to play Minecraft without me paying for the wifi. Some wifi networks have "client isolation" such that clients on the same subnet can't see each other and I'm not sure if this truck does or not.

Granted I could test all of this, but I like a nerdy chat as much as the next person. Thanks

·
Registered
11,478 Posts
Your NERDS are way outside my league, but I would think the best reason for accessing WIFI would be to upload/download updates to the software of the truck. Allow dealer to use the WIFI in his service bay to update issues on truck.

I do think that my phone sees a wifi from my truck even without service, but since I am clueless as to most of this, I wouldn't even know how to test or use it.

·
Registered
10,627 Posts
I noticed in my settings that I can connect to my houses wifi while sitting in the drive way. Cool.

But I'm trying to think of a use case for that and why the option exists. I'm a "IT guy" by trade, but I don't know enough yet about the things the truck does. (2017 Z71 Colorado).