Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2015 extended cab WT with about 30,000 miles on it. It has started using about 1 quart of oil every 4,000 miles. I've used the trucks oil change schedule and use Mobile 1 (with dexos). Never had this issue on my other Chevy's. is this normal or within specs for the 3.6 V6?

·
Registered
2,772 Posts
GM well say it is within spec. Up to a half qt per 1000 miles is acceptable.

·
Premium Member
4,885 Posts
Without getting into any sort of debate (mainly because I dont care enough to argue my point) but full synthetic does feel thinner vs dino oil so, based on that alone it would appear that it gets past parts it shouldnt (can anyone says ....this is why some use a CATCH CAN)

As a fleet mechanic, I will definitely state, when vehicles come in for oil changes (which is 20 times a day) they rarely have the proper amount from their last oil change so yea.... its sort of normal.

Expected or what I personally would consider acceptable, NO....... but yep, its normal all the same.

Reactions: White016

·
Registered
470 Posts
Does the oil smell like gas by any chance? The GM 3.6 direct injection engine is not known to have fuel pump issues like their 2.4 DI sister engines over in the Equinox forum which has been a major issue, but it is possible with direct injection. You can send an oil sample in for analysis to get a better idea what is going on with your engine. My previous V6 engines were not DI, but I never had to add oil at 4000 miles which I also use for approximate oil change interval along with Mobil 1. I ran my old 2003 3.4 GM V-6 to over 100,000 miles without having to add oil. The oil level would be close to the add mark at that time but was still safe.

·
Registered
157 Posts