Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2016 v6 GMC Canyon SLE. I bought the truck at 50k miles in March and have 72k miles at the moment.

About 2 months ago i noticed there was a slight "bucking" that would happen every once and a while when i would accelerate after decelerating. It only happens if i decelerate for a stop light but don't come to a complete stop before accelerating again. At first it was very seldom that it happened, but it has become more and more frequent.

To start with, I'm not a very mechanically inclined person but i have enough common sense to get me by. That being said, I'm not sure if "bucking" is the correct term to use but that's the best way i can explain it. It's not super violent jerking but there's absolutely no way you can miss/ignore it.

The issue only happens when i decelerate from 40s+ and barely press the gas pedal to speed back up. It never happens above 1500 rpms and ALMOST always clears after 46-48 mph. it has only done it a handful of times in the 50s and above. over the past month it has become more and more frequent..

I did add fuel system cleaner to a tank of 93 octane and it damn near made it go away. for good measure i did it with a second tank of 93 octane and cleaner with the same results. as soon as i put more gas (after the cleaner) it went right back to doing it, getting more frequent throughout the week. sometimes I can make the truck do it, other times i can't, which is the main reason i havent put it in the shop yet.

I have a lot of financial obstacles at the moment and need this issue resolved in an efficient manner, which is why im leaning on this forum.