ZR2 rear leaf spring suspension swap on a 2016 Z71 Colorado - Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon
 15Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-14-2017, 08:41 PM Thread Starter

ZR2 rear leaf spring suspension swap on a 2016 Z71 Colorado

DISCLAIMER: This post is for informational purposes only. I am not a professional and I am not giving you advice on what you should or should not do. You are solely liable for any action you take as a result of reading this post or in life in general.

I have a 2016 chevrolet colorado Z71 2.8L with an Icon stage 5 suspension lift with no rear block. I had the 1 inch block installed for a bit but took it out (I noticed it was cracked) because I did not like it. Since I do not tow, I do not care for the stock rear leaf springs as they are stiff and restrict travel. Since the ZR2 is now available (of course they release it a year after I bought my z71 or else I would have bought one) and I heard it had "specially tuned" rear leaf springs so I figured I would buy and install the ZR2 rear leaf springs in my Z71 to see how I liked the ride and potential lift if any.

Here are the GM part numbers for the rear leaf springs:

84293345 Driver side rear leaf spring
84293346 Passenger side leaf spring

A few things to note:
  • If your rear suspension is stock, you should be able to use all your stock bolts, U bolts and brake lines. (I do not have stock U bolts so you will want to double check this)
  • With the ZR2 leafs installed with no block, at full droop my brake lines were maxed out and taught just like when I had a one inch block installed.
  • You will need to drop your spare tire (easy) and your fuel tank (not as easy but very doable).
  • The spare tire kit under your rear seat includes the tool you will need to drop your spare tire and the tool is inserted to the right of your license plate.